Usu-Zenkoji Temple
The Temple of Flowers
Founded in 826, in 1613 Matsumae Keihiro, lord of the Matsumae domain, rebuilt the Nyorai-do hall, enshrined a statue of Amida Nyorai, and named it Zenkoji Temple. In 1804, the main hall and guest hall were rebuilt and erected as one of the “three official temples in Ezo” under the direct jurisdiction of the Edo shogunate in the Ezo region. The temple is now designated as a national historic site, and the Treasure House displays and stores a total of 62 nationally important cultural properties, Hokkaido's tangible cultural properties, and Ainu ethnic materials, etc. In 2018, the temple was selected as a Hokkaido Heritage Site. The temple is also known by many as a “temple of flowers” where cherry blossoms, hydrangeas, and other seasonal flowers bloom within its precincts. The cherry blossoms are usually at their best from early May to late May, and the hydrangeas from late July to mid-August.
- * Please note that the text shown on this page includes machine translations.
- Category
- Shrines and temples, churches
- World Heritage sites, Jomon culture, Ainu culture
- History, culture, art
- Girls' trip
- Couple
- Travel style
- Lavender, flower gardens, gardens
- Natural scenery, spectacular views
- Travel Inspiration
- Best for a girls' trip
- Nearest airports
General Information
- Postal code
- 〒059-0151
- Address
- 北海道伊達市有珠町124
- Telephone Number
- 0142-38-2007
- Open
- 9:00-17:00
- Closed
- Open all year round
- Prices
- Free admission
Zenkoji Treasure Museum: paid *Reservations required - Directions
- ●By car: 10 minutes from JR Toya Station
- Website
* Information on facilities is subject to change. Please check each official website for the latest information.